Eritrea March 22, 2022

26 out of 54 African countries didn’t vote for the UN resolution condemning Russia’s actions in Ukraine

On March 2, 2022 the UN General Assembly adopted a resolution demanding that Russia immediately stop the special military operation in Ukraine and withdraw its troops.

Almost half of African countries did not vote for the UN resolution. Eritrea voted against the resolution. 17 countries abstained (35 in total): Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Zimbabwe, Republic of the Congo, Madagascar, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Senegal, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, CAR, Equatorial Guinea, South Africa and South Sudan. 8 countries did not vote: Burkina Faso, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Cameroon, Morocco, Togo, Eswatini and Ethiopia. 7 African countries (Gambia, Liberia, Ghana, Niger, DR Congo, Malawi, Botswana) sponsored the resolution and voted in favour.

RA Journal prepared a map representing voting patterns of African states:

Author: Maria Pashkova